The Ultimate Sacrifice


So if you read my last post, you know that I gave us sugar for Lent.  It’s just a little after noon today, Easter Sunday, and so far I’ve had a donut for breakfast and a few spoonfuls of my favorite ice cream that I recently found again at our local grocery story.   I bought six containers of it.  Last time they quit selling it for two years, so this time I decided to stock up a little.  You just can’t beat Starbucks Java Chip Frappacino.  Yummy coffee/chocolatey goodness.

I was pretty proud of myself.

It’s crazy when I think about giving up sugar as some sort of sacrifice.  I had a friend who gave up soda and coffee, and last night she made the comment that I hope she won’t mind me sharing.   It kind of embodies where I was at during this whole process.  I’m paraphrasing her statement, but basically it was this:  Lent has become more about counting down the days until I can have soda and coffee again instead of drawing closer to Jesus.

I’m right there with her.

I was really looking forward to that ice cream this morning.

It’s days like today, Easter, that I really try to take a deep look at where I am and where I’m going spiritually.  Let’s face it.  My sacrifice of sugar is nothing.  NOTHING.  Today it serves to me as a reminder.  A reminder that there is nothing that I can do to make myself worthy of His great love and grace.  Nothing that I can say, no person I can help no sacrifice made.  Nothing.

His death paid my debt.

His resurrection gave me new life.

And there’s nothing I’ve done to deserve it.

Thank you, Jesus.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

