I Want To Get Lost


“This is what the Lord says:  Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.”

~ Jeremiah 6:16

I read this first verse in 1 Corinthians earlier this week and really wanted to write something about it, but couldn’t really ever find the right words.  Then I wanted to write a little bit about how wonderful my little escape was for my soul, and I couldn’t find the words.  It’s amazing how quickly they come when I get quiet.  I think I’ve posted about that before.  Why do I forget so easily?

I was talking to a friend last night about how nice it sometimes it just to be alone and be quiet.  I basically just said, you know, I live alone.  When I want alone time, I just go home.  What I didn’t realize, though, is how much I needed to get away.  I needed to go where the only responsibility was to get up the next morning.  I didn’t have any dishes to wash, any laundry piling up in my hamper or yard to neglect mowing.  I was free to do whatever I wanted.  No responsibilities for just a few short hours.  Man, that was good.  Good rest for my soul.

I hate to imagine how often I go looking for rest in the wrong places.  The times that I just need to get quiet, I move towards the noise.  The times I need fellowship, I run away from the crowd.  I’ve ended up going down the paths that I choose and end up in the places that I don’t want to be, the places that end in hurt and pain.  My heart hardens again because I insist on finding my own way.

When will I learn?

Will I ever get it right?

Then there have been the times that I’ve given up trying to do it myself…and He gives me rest.  He gives me the exact thing I need, whether it’s rest or whether is good company or whatever the case may be.

The fact of the matter is, is that when I choose the good way, His path, I have rest.  And it is good.

It’s not good because it’s what I need, although that is pretty awesome.

It’s good because I rest in Him.

I put my trust and my faith and finally realize, once again, that His way is the only way that I can really live.  He’s come to give us life.  He’s come to give us a good life.  I didn’t say an easy life, but a good life.

Let’s face it.  Losing our path for His is the only way to live.

Lord, help me to never forget that.

There’s a song I’ve been listening to a lot lately called I Want To Get Lost by Sanctus Real.  It’s pretty incredible if you’ll listen to it.

“Well I found my way to trouble
I found my way to pain
Oh but I’m so tired of trying
To find my own way
So I wanna get lost
I wanna get lost in Your arms
I wanna get lost
And lose my way into Your heart
‘Cause there’s so many voices
Telling me how to get lost in this life
So right now I wanna get lost in You
Before I lose myself” ~ Sanctus Real

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Want To Get Lost

  1. Dena G says:

    Getting “lost” for the day was certainly good for my soul…it’s wonderful to have a safe sanctuary where you can lose the noise of the world for awhile and just listen to God. 🙂

Leave a Reply

