Everything


“Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.” ~Hebrews 2:18

Did you read that?

Or are you like me and sometimes skip the verse at the beginning?  Read it.

And here’s this tweet I read on Twitter today: “Peter pulled a sword on soldiers yet hid from a servant girl:  Beware the small battles as they often are far more destructive.”

Are you ever tempted?  But what about the battles you thought you’ve already fought and already won?  Man, those sneak up on me.  I’m trying to make conscious decisions about what I’m eating and what I’m spending my money on and how I’m spending my time.  That might sound a little weird to you, but think about it.  How many decisions do you make a day that you don’t even think about.  Starting with whether or not to get up.  And quite honestly, some days it’d be better if I’d stayed in bed.  Maybe that’s a decision I need to be more conscious about.  Not sure how my boss would feel about that, though…

I make so many decisions a day that I don’t even think about.  They’re seemingly insignificant decisions at the time, but sometimes when the big life-changing decision hits, I can look back and think to myself, Man, I wish I would have put a little more thought into that earlier on.  This would have been a lot easier.

Like right now.  I’m trying to decide whether or not to go to a Catalyst conference in Dallas, TX next month.  I really, really, really, really, really want to go.  Had I been more conscious of my spending habits in my 20s, this would be a no-brainer.  However, those decisions that I thought meant nothing 10 years ago are making this decision a little harder.  I’ve got the money to go.  That’s not the issue.  The issue is is do I use it for this conference or use it for something else?

I’ve given up sweets for a while.  I haven’t really had a hard time with it.  Tonight I started to fix a smoothie.  I thought it’d be a pretty good idea.  Not too sweet.  I read on the label that there was a little sugar, but not much, and besides, it was fruit.  How bad could it be?  It caught me by surprise how easily I was ready to give up that commitment…without even really thinking about it.  It had more sugar than I thought, and after one taste it did go down the drain, but still.  Geez.

I love the verse above.  He suffered when He was tempted.  He is able to help those who are being tempted.  Now I’m not saying that I’m suffering because I want to go to Dallas and am not sure it’s the right thing for me right now.  I’m definitely not suffering because I’m not eating sugar.  In fact, I feel great.  I still want a chocolate bar every now and then, but I’m definitely not suffering.

I guess the point I’m trying to make about this verse is how comforting it is.  He was here.  He lived it.  He was killed for it.  All so he could help us.  So whatever you’re struggling with it, He’s been there.

No matter what it is.  He’s here.

This video is of my favorite skit.  I just watched it again for about the 100th time and still started crying.  It’s powerful.  It reminds me that He’s still here.  And he’s still fighting for me.  And that makes me happy.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everything

  1. Dorothy Vaughn says:

    that video still makes me cry every time too. Thanks for the reminder!
    Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

