Way To Play It Safe


My new friend was describing the other night at small group about raising children.  I don’t have any children, so usually I zone out when these topics come up, but last night what he was saying hit me.  Hard.

His son is two and is a beautiful little man FULL OF ENERGY.  This kid is awesome.  But his dad was talking about how every corner in their home had little rubber bumper things around them so that if he were to fall or bump his little head, he wouldn’t be hurt as bad.  He was talking about trying to decide whether or not to send him to school when it came time for that or homeschool, because he just wanted to keep him safe and away from the evil in this world.

First of all, how cool is that?  I love hearing men talk about trying to raise their children and lead their homes in a Godly way.

The main thing it hit me was how tired I was of playing it safe.  Keep in mind, I don’t have rubber bumpers on all my corners in my house, although that’s probably not a bad idea.  I’m kind of a klutz.  But seriously, how many times do I not do something that I probably should just because it might not be as safe as I’d like it to be or maybe because I don’t know exactly how it will turn out.

One of my favorite lines from C.S. Lewis is in The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe.  Lucy and Mr. Beaver are talking and she asks if Aslan is safe to which Mr. Beaver responds, “Safe?  Who said anything about safe?  ‘Course he isn’t safe.  But he’s good.”

I forget more often than not that sometimes God calls us to do some things that may seem a little bit crazy, some things that we might not know the outcome and that there are probably a lot of people out there who are going to think you’re crazier than you really are.  My biggest struggle in all of this is knowing that He is good and has a plan that He will see me through to the best outcome…even if it is hard.  Maybe it’s not KNOWING that He is good, but more REMEMBERING that He is good.

I try so hard to get things right, to have all my ducks in a row before I even commit to something, especially if it’s going to involve any sort of risk on my part.  I’ve been living alone for years, and I’m pretty set in my ways, and if things get done, I have to be the one who does them.  Maybe that’s part of my control issue(s).  Who knows.

What I’ve been reading a lot about lately everywhere I seem to turn is the Israelites crossing the Jordan to get to the Promised Land.  Can you imagine how hard it would have been to take that first step into the river at flood stage?  There’s no way it could have looked safe.  Could I have taken that first step?  I honestly don’t know.  But they did.  They took that first step and they walked across on dry land and they built and altar so they would remember it.  They took the first step into the water and then finished on dry land.  It didn’t say mud.  It said dry land.

Everyone’s Promised Land is different.  What is your Jordan that you have to cross to get to yours?  Have you taken that first step or are you still playing it safe?

Remember He isn’t safe.  But He is good.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Way To Play It Safe

  1. Bethany says:

    So does God just tell you, “Blog about this because Bethany needs to hear it,” or do you just have spies in my private life? Seriously. Holy crap, man.

    After reading this I finally sent my resume. Thanks for posting.

    • Julie says:

      I wish, Bethany! Wouldn’t that be nice, though? I was actually worried about this post. I was tired and had had a crazy day, so I kind of forced it, but reading back over it, I think it turned out better than I thought! And so glad it helped! Let me know what you hear from your resume. Oh, and WAY TO GO!!!

Leave a Reply

