Thankful


I’m sitting here in my living room watching one of my best friends girls play Wii Fit Plus and killing it…and probably soon each other.  I love it.  I’d tell you it was friendly competition, but I’d be lying.  Most of the time it is, but there’s a few times that they’ve really gotten into it and started talking a little smack.  It’s always a good time to watch a 7-year-old and a 9-year-old talk smack.  I tell ya, there is nothing like it.

While they’re exerting energy through the game, I’m sitting on the couch about to fall asleep.  The time changed yesterday.  I lost an hour of sleep I’ll never get back.  The only bonus is that the daylight will hang around a little longer.  I am pretty pumped about that.  I probably would have noticed it a little today if it hadn’t rained all day.  And when I say all day, I mean all day.

And as I sit here complaining about how tired I am and how much it has rained and how my throat hurts — I haven’t mentioned that yet?  Well, my throat hurts, too — and in the midst of all this I realize one very important thing.

My home wasn’t destroyed by an earthquake last week.  My family’s homes weren’t destroyed by an earthquake last week.  We all weren’t washed away by a catastrophic tsunami.  I’m sitting in a dry place with people I love, and others are just a phone call away.  Or if I really needed them, they’re just a few miles at the most.

I don’t know about you, but I forget most of the time how blessed I am.  I have an awesome family.  I forget how fortunate I am to have a large group of friends that I think would feel a little bit of a void if I were to, I don’t know, have to got into witness protection or something.  On the days that they find me annoying, probably not, but there may be a few days here and there.

I’m blessed.

That’s all there is to it.

I try to be thankful.  I fail a lot of the time.  But every now and then I get it right.

I’m thankful for the grace like rain that falls down in the times that I get it wrong.  Hallelujah, grace like rain falls down on me.

Please pray for Japan.  Do whatever you can to help.  I read something by Donald Miller the other day that said this:  “If something ever happens to me, I don’t care about your thoughts, but I could use your prayers.”

Praying is doing something.  Don’t ever forget that.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful

  1. Bethany says:

    “Praying is doing something. Don’t ever forget that.”

    So true. God rocks my face off when I pray for stuff.

Leave a Reply

