Surprise! It’s Valentine’s Day!!!


“When people at church find out I’m single, I feel like they look in the direction of my uterus and shake their heads in shame.”

So goes the opening line from Jon Acuff’s blog that I follow.  I crack up just about every time I read it.  Today is no exception.  In fact, every time I think about it, I can’t keep from chuckling.

It seems like every blog I read is posting about Valentine’s Day.  Honestly, I hadn’t really thought about it too much until I got to work.  Our office is right beside the biggest flower shop in town.  I never knew how many men waited until the last minute.  This morning it was heavy, heavy traffic.  This afternoon has been a little slower, but a few stragglers here and there coming and going.  It’s cracking me up.

I find it an odd phenomenon that people forget holidays and then they’re completely surprised by the fact that, Oh, hello.  It’s Valentine’s Day again.  Another thing I find really crazy is that we buy in to all this marketing hype.  Valentine’s Day was not about love and lovers.  It was first created to honor Christian martyrs as Donald Miller points out in his blog so well.  (side note…if Donald Miller wrote me a letter, I’d probably marry him.)   Someone decided one day that they liked the idea of celebrating love better than they liked celebrating martyrs, so then the greeting card and chocolate and flower companies all jumped on board and made a fortune.  Not that I blame them, but, yeah, that’s kinda how it happens.

“Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.”  John 15:13

Maybe I just don’t understand all this romance stuff.  Maybe I’m a little cynical, but I don’t think so.  Love, I mean real love, the stuff that Jesus teaches isn’t really about a box of chocolates and a dozen roses.  I think the real love that He teaches is found in the story of the Good Samaritan, the story of the woman at the well, crucifixion and resurrection and every word written in the Bible.  How?  It’s all about love.

Why did God send His son to die for us?  He loves us.

Every single one of us.

Whether or not we love…He loves us.

Awesome.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surprise! It’s Valentine’s Day!!!

  1. Andrea says:

    I read Jon Acuff’s blog like 2 minutes before yours. I was really confused for a few minutes that they started the exact same way. 😉

    And today didn’t seem super special to me either.

    Great observations! Thanks.

  2. Dorothy Vaughn says:

    amen and amen!

Leave a Reply

