Thinking clearly…is that even possible?


“Jesus answered, ‘My teaching is not my own.  It comes from him who sent me.  If anyone chooses to do God’s will, he will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own.  He who speaks on his own does so to gain honor for himself, but he who works for the honor of the one who sent him is a man of truth; there is nothing false about him.” John 7:16-18

I have a horrible cold.  Sometimes it’s the kind of cold that, you know, your nose runs a little and you sound a little congested.  Then there’s this cold.  This is the kind of cold that makes me resort to the one thing I resort to only when I absolute cannot get any air to move through my nose, which really makes it hard for sleeping by the way.

Nasal spray.

I hate the stuff.

But I love the stuff.

Put a few squirts up in your nose and in just a few short minutes you have clear passages for breathing.  It’s a wonderful thing.  I’ll only use it in the case of an emergency.   In this case an emergency consists of me not being able to breathe through my nose…at all.  I don’t know if you’ve experienced this or not, but the way my body works is that if there is no air movement through the nasal passages, swallowing becomes more and more difficult.  It creates some sort of vacuum and feels like your tongue is getting in the way of everything and you’re gonna die.  Okay.  So maybe not really die, but it’s the craziest feeling ever.

Add a little nasal spray all up in there and you’ve got clear breathing for 10-12 hours.  I don’t know how it works.  I don’t want to know how it works.  It will probably terrify me that I’m putting that stuff in my body, but tonight I am thankful that it works.

If you didn’t catch my last post, you might not have known that I used to be an athlete.  Being part of a sports team is a huge commitment.  It means practice every day after school that there’s not a game.  It also means doing your homework on the bus while you’re driving an hour to the school that you’re playing that night.  Lots of hard work and long hours, but I loved those years.  I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

While I loved the sports I played, there were just some days I didn’t feel like being there.  Tonight would have qualified as one of those nights.  The thought of running up and down a court trying to throw a ball in a hoop just doesn’t seem as appealing if you’ve got snot running all down your face.

This morning, though, I was reminded of how awesome God created our bodies.  I got up this morning, got on my bike all congested and started pedaling.  You know what happened?  My mucous cleared.  I could breathe.  I was exercising, doing what was best and good for me, and it all vanished during that time.  It took a little while, but after about an hour or so, though, it was back.  But for that magical hour and a half I could breathe.  Man, that was a good feeling!

As you read in the scripture above, Jesus says this:  “If anyone chooses to do God’s will, he will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own.”  The passage goes on to say in verse 19, “Has not Moses given you the law?  Yet now one of you keeps the law.”

Now my interpretation on this, of course, not being any kind of Biblical scholar is that Jesus is saying that if these pharisees had been in God’s will, they would have known him, because there is nothing false a man who works for the honor of God.  There would have been no fault they would have found if they were actually doing what was best for them and speaking the truth.  Instead they were seeking to find fault, and because their thinking and lives were faulty, they saw what they thought was lies and deception.

I honestly don’t know if what is in my head is coming out right tonight because of the medicine, but those who were doing what was best for their physical and spiritual bodies knew the truth.  They could see clearly.  They could think clearly because there wasn’t any junk in their way.  They were seeking truth, and truth is what they found.  Just like this morning when I started in on my bike and everything cleared away and I could focus on the task at hand which was doing what was best for me physically, without all the junk in their lives, they were able to focus on the will of God and seek out the truth.

Tonight it’s my prayer to live a life in the will of God so I clearly know what is from Him.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thinking clearly…is that even possible?

  1. Debbie says:

    So true! 🙂

  2. Lena says:

    I have given much thought to this subject but from Jesus perspective. He was born a Man, flesh and blood like the rest of us. What set him apart to be perfect. To keep focused. Not be distracted. I wonder if it was because he had no wife or children. Because he had no home with bills. There was not television or radio. Our society today fills our days up with so many distractions it is so hard to just think sometimes. I was studying the book of Mark because I desire to know Jesus deeper. something just caught me.. Jesus prays in a solitary place, Jesus went to a solitary place.. When he heard John the Baptist was killed he went to a solitary place. All of the sudden he became so real to me. He was just like us, full of emotion. He faced trails and tests just like we do.. but he always brought it to the Father..he prayed.
    I don’t know if you have heard this song: Don’t know the title or who sings it- “He walks the dirty street, famous for nothing, He said come follow me, they came. A face like all the rest, but something was different” (Found a link)

    Wait until you watch this….

Leave a Reply

