Christmastime is here!


I’m avoiding wrapping my presents for some reason.   They’re all sitting in the middle of my living room, and I’m sitting on the couch typing this entry and watching a cheesy Christmas movie, which is just about my favorite thing to do during the holidays.  I don’t know if you’ve ever sat down and watched a few of these movies.  If you have, you’ll notice a couple recurring themes in everyone of them.  Most of the time there’s a person or two who has had some sort of tragedy or just remotely bad thing that they’ve gone through.  Then after you’ve seen the tragedy part of the movie, then enters the hero.  This is the only person in the world that will ever understand what this other person has gone through.  They come through the tragedy together and help each other come to the realization of what Christmas and what love really is.  The other real themes that come through in every movie is a really thin story line with bad acting.

I don’t really know why I like them so much.  Some of them are just really bad.  In fact, I’ve watched about five minutes of two that I’ve had recorded for a while and have instantly deleted them.  It has to be really bad acting and/or story for me to not even watch 30 minutes of something.  Really bad.

I think, though, the common theme that all of these movies unknowingly portray is the longing for the something that’s missing in their lives.  And it just seems that Christmastime would be the perfect time for those longings to come true.  Right?  I mean, after all, it is the season of miracles, isn’t it?

I’m not going to deny it.  It does seem like miraculous things happen at Christmas.  Good and seemingly life-changing things happen all the time, but I don’t know if it’s that we there’s more at Christmastime or if we just notice them more because that’s when we’re expecting miracles.

Why is it, do you think, that there’s this air of miracles surrounding this time of year?  I personally think that it’s because we’re all searching for that one thing that fulfills us, that makes us complete.  What makes it great is that the one and only thing that we’ll ever need is the very first miracle at Christmastime.  When Mary and Joseph had Jesus, they, of course, knew that He was a miracle.  They didn’t, however, know the full impact that He would have on the world.

So, yes, I believe that Christmastime is a time for miracles because it’s the time of year when the miracle came that saved me from a tortured eternity.  I’m so thankful for that.  So whatever you do at Christmas, take time this year to sit on your couch with your family, turn on a cheesy Christmas movie, make fun of me because I’ve probably already seen it (note the bad acting) and think about it.  They’re searching for something.  It’s up to us to let them know what it is they’re searching for.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

