Come clean my house for me…


So I’m up way too late again waiting on my laundry to finish ’cause I don’t have any clean clothes to wear tomorrow.  I’ve been too busy this week to even come close to thinking about doing a load or two.  Forget even trying to vacuum my home or cook or dust…it’s ridiculous.  Why have I been busy?  Because I choose to be mainly, but a lot of it is that I work with the public, and when you work with the public, you need to be available. I had a conversation today with a woman that I think could become a good friend.  She was telling me about her children and her life raising them, and what struck me about it is how available she was to her family.  I’ve been thinking a lot about family lately and how blessed I am to have been born into the family I have.  My father worked three jobs sometimes to provide so my mother could stay home and raise us four kids.  Even though my dad was gone a lot with his jobs, he was still available.  I could still go to him if I needed something, and I knew that.  Same with my mom.  It would be easy to kind of get lost in the midst of four children and a husband who worked so hard, but she was there.  They’re still there.  I’m thankful. I don’t really have much of a point tonight except that there have been times in my life when I’ve just shown up, but I wasn’t available.  I was there physically and went through the motions, but things really wouldn’t have changed if I hadn’t been there at all.  We think sometimes that just because we show up that we’re doing good or helping out and that God will notice that, Hey, at least we’re here.  My question is this:  Does it really mean anything eternally if we do good to get noticed?  Yeah, it helps in the here and now, but eternally, where does it leave us? I heard a quote the other day on the radio, and I loved it. He said something like, “The modern church is obsessed in trying to look like Jesus instead of trying to look like we need Jesus.”  Now, I hadn’t ever thought that trying to look like Jesus was a bad thing, and this speaker didn’t say it was.  But he did say that when we neglect to look like we are in need of Jesus, several things happen.  We don’t allow the grace of God to work through us for one thing.  Secondly, people will readily see Jesus’ love flowing into us and through us when we show that we need Him.

I believe that when we act like we’ve got it all together, people are turned off to the Gospel.  I think that when people see that you’re just as broken and bruised as they are, they are drawn to you like people were drawn to Jesus.  Some of those people didn’t really know what it was about this Jesus guy, but he had something that they wanted, and they were going to try everything they could to figure out what it was.

My question to you is this:  Are you trying to show the world that you’re like Jesus, or are you showing the world that you need Jesus?

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

