When You Come Back For Me


Wow.  What a crazy couple of days.  Right now it’s almost 2 a.m., so my thoughts might not connect totally.  My last post may have made you think that I was saying that I only felt that God loved me when good things were happening.  I don’t want you to think that.  I want you to know that I’m learning.  I’m learning to know the voice of God.  I’m learning how to come into His presence.  I’m learning that during the good times and the bad that if I pay close enough attention, I will be able to feel His arms wrapped around me when I need it most.  I’m learning that I don’t have it all together, and that maybe my plan just isn’t the right one.  I’m learning to take advice.  But most of all I’m learning and continuously trying to believe that God is crazy in love with me.  To me, sometimes, that’s the crazy part.  I’ve got this God that is so crazy in love with me that He wants to spend time with me.  AND He wants me to spend time with Him.

I went to a concert tonight.  Let me tell you something.  If you haven’t checked out JJ Heller, you need to.  Seeing a person do a live set can make you have a totally new appreciation for their music.  I was already in love with her style and honesty and her folky voice, but seeing the person and the heart behind the music was awesome.  The only thing that would have made it better is if we had been sitting in a coffeehouse atmosphere and we were there for several hours.  Thirty minutes of your favorite artist live just is never long enough.

There was your typical crowd at a typical Christian concert.  You had the tween girls that stood up front all concert long and jumped up and down.  You had the old man asleep in the back aisle just waiting to be able to clean up the church.  You had the young single girls there old enough to get married looking for the wedding bands on the guitar players and trying to get close-up pictures on their cell phones to send to their friends to show them just how close they were to Mr. Hottie-Lead-Singer-Guy.  You had the middle-aged woman trying so hard to embarrass her children by dancing in the aisle, and doing a darn good job of it (not the dancing…the embarrassing).  You had the people that clapped off-beat and those who kept their hands in their pockets the whole time.  There were those who wanted to stand for every song and those who took the first opportunity they could to sit.  I was sitting kind of in the middle of the sanctuary just enjoying the music, the company and watching people.  The one thing that never changes, though, at whatever concert you choose to attend, there are people there together as one worshipping the same God.  You know, the God that’s crazy in love with all of us.  As I sat back there watching all of these people I wondered how many of them really realized that.  And then if they did realize it, how many of them really believed it.

Just want to leave you with a little JJ Heller lyrical genius to speak to you.  The song is called “When You Come Back For Me,” and, yes, you need to check it out.

“I don’t know how to follow You without losing my way.  Jesus come and take me by the hand.  And I don’t know how to trust that You will do the things you say.  Spirit teach me how to understand.  That Your love can heal the wreckage of my soul.  The beauty of Your light shining in me.  I don’t know when You’ll take me home to paradise with you, the day when I will finally be free.  Oh, the day when You come back for me.”

 

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When You Come Back For Me

  1. Kathy says:

    As always, I like it…

  2. Dorothy says:

    very good stuff Julie! LOVE the lyrics at the end….

Leave a Reply

