Before the Morning


Most of the time I don’t really understand the things I say yes to.   I’m house sitting for two weeks in a house close to mine.  This house is home to two seventy-pound dogs, a gecko, a snake, a cat with new kittens and, of course, two rats.  Had I known about the rats I probably wouldn’t have taken the job.  I do, however, enjoy the payday at the end of it.  I hate to say it, but really that’s the only reason I took this job.  I have my own house now, so I’ll probably be house sitting less and less.  I am, though, learning how to care for animals that I probably never — what do I mean probably — that I NEVER would have entertained before.  And when I say care for, I don’t mean develop feelings.  I mean physically care for.

I’ve been getting up at 6 a.m. to let the dogs out since I’ve been doing this job.  I let the dogs out of the house in the morning, when I get off work, and then they just run free when I’m there or I take them out right before bedtime if I’m running late or something.  Being up so early I’ve been noticing the sunrise.  I haven’t really seen a whole lot of sunrises in my life.  I’m not a morning kinda girl.  The ones I’ve seen I’ve appreciated immensely the beauty that God has given us in His creation.  These have been no different.  But I’ve also noticed something a little different about these sunrises and sunsets that I’ve seen these past few days.

There have been a few mornings where it’s been completely dark and I turn my back to look inside for something and when I turn back to look back outside it light.  It’s like instantly it goes from dark to light.  There’s no in-between time.  It’s dark and I can’t see a darn thing, and then there’s light.  Then there’s some days when the light comes in stages.  Every moment I can see a little better than before, but just a little bit, until finally I can see to walk around without doing a face plant.

The sunsets are no different.  There’s been some evenings where it seems like it’s just instantly dark and there’s no warning.  And then there are the times when it seems to come in stages, too.  Like when I think I’ve got enough time to walk to my parents’ house and back before dark.  Even if I leave at the same time every night, there are nights when it’s no problem and then there’s nights where I could run and still not make it back in time.  And believe me…you do not want to see this girl run.

I sorta think that life is like sunrises and sunsets.  There are times in our lives when we’re just  going along and everything seems fine then all of the sudden the darkness enters and envelops us.  We get a bad phone call in the middle of the night or something like that.  Then sometimes it comes in stages.  Things are going good then one bad thing happens.  We didn’t get this job, but it’s ok.  There’s another one out there for me.  I just know it.  After months of searching for a job or trying to catch someone’s attention or whatever the case may be, we look back and realize that the darkness had started back at that first job denial, and then we realize that we’re in the dark.

“This is the message we have heard from Him and declare to you:  God is light; in Him there is no darkness at all.  If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by the truth.  But if we walk in the light, as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, His Son, purifies us from all sin.” 1 John 5-7

What I seem to forget is that while we’re in the darkness, while we let ourselves wallow in the horrible darkness, that in God there is no darkness.  In the darkness there is no fellowship with Him or with one another.  Our relationships suffer and every aspect in our lives suffer because we’re walking in the darkness and not living by the Truth.  Ouch.  How many times have I been content to sit in the darkness and just let it surround me?

The good news is is that just like the darkness can come upon us so quickly, so can the light.  “If we walk in the light, as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.”  Now, the circumstances might not change…but the attitude does.  When we’re walking in the light with God, things are manageable emotionally, physically and spiritually for us.

“This is the verdict:  Light has come into the world, but men loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil.  Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that his deeds will be exposed.  But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light so that it may be seen plainly that what he has done has been done through God.” John 3:19-21

I don’t know about you, but more often than not I bring the darkness upon myself.  Something happens, and instead of walking in the Light, it’s just easier to wallow in the darkness, but what God wants us to do is run to the Light.  Not only because it will make our lives better, but because it will make the lives of others in our lives better.  By us choosing to walk in the light the world will be able to see plainly that what he has done has been done through God.

That’s what it boils down to in my mind.  We’re here to walk in the Light so that God may be glorified through our deeds.  And even if we misstep and turn towards the darkness where God is not present, He will be there holding out His hand just waiting for us to reach up to Him in faith in our time of need.  My prayer for us as a community is that we would choose the Light in every situation and do not wallow in the darkness.  As we go forward through this next week may we notice more the sunrises and sunsets.  I know that I, while still appreciating the beauty of God’s creation, will never look at one the same again.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Before the Morning

  1. Kathy says:

    Continue to let your light shine…You are a gift.

Leave a Reply

