Remodeling and such


My aunt lost her son about two months ago.  She’s been up to visit with all of us a couple times in those two months.  The last time she was up here I didn’t get a chance to visit with her at all.  Our paths never physically crossed.  What I’ve noticed, though, is that everywhere she went last time she was here, she definitely left her mark.

I went over to my parents’ house for dinner the other day, and the living room was freshly painted with new window treatments.  Now, if you know my mom, you know that it can take her weeks to get one room done.  So seeing that it had been done within the timespan of a weekend, I was a little surprised.  That Friday I went to my grandparents’ house, and all of their shutters and doors had been painted.  My grandparents are in their late 70s, so I knew they had to have had some help.  It seems that everywhere my aunt went during her visit, those places were now colorful and new-looking.

Last night I was unwinding to some TV and a preview for the new Julia Roberts movie came on: Eat, Pray, Love.  I’m not sure about the movie, but one of the quotes from the preview stuck out to me.  I’m going to mess it up completely, so I’m paraphrasing, but basically she said, I want to stand in front of something and be completely in awe.  I want to reinvent myself.  I want to leave my mark. (Keep in mind it’s a VERY LOOSE paraphrase!)

My aunt is creative and colorful and is currently in the process of reinventing herself.  She spent the last year and a half caring for her dying son.  He was her life.  That part of her life is over now, so moving on is probably a little scary.  But she’s leaving her mark wherever she goes…and it’s colorful and fun and happy.  That’s my aunt.  Eternal optimist.    I’m sure she has days that are really sucky.  But she paints and she sews and she creates.  She’s reinventing.

The earlier quote from Eat, Pray, Love, I can understand.  Sometimes I just want to see something amazing.  I want to stand in awe.  I want to make my mark.  What I think I get but sometimes forget is that all I have to do to be in awe of something is just to worship.  It’s so easy to get caught up in this life that’s so busy and that’s going by so fast that sometimes we just forget to stand in awe at creation or at the glory of His presence in our lives.

My goal for the next week and all the weeks after that is to just to take some time to just stand and worship and be in awe of His glory and His presence in my life.  I think that there’s not better way to reinvent yourself or leave your mark on this world than to be a person who shows the love of God and His grace in our lives.  I want people to remember me as gracious and loving more than anything else.  That’s how I’m going to leave my mark.  I’ll let God handle the reinventing for me!

Now I’ve got to call my aunt and see when she’s coming up next.  My living room needs a good coat of paint…

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remodeling and such

  1. Kathy says:

    You inspire me…Thank You

Leave a Reply

