Let's get this straight


So Sunday morning our pastor was trying to talk about Jacob and Esau and kept putting the wrong name in the wrong place.  He, of course, realized it and tried to fix it, but just kept making it worse.  It was pretty funny.  First day back from vacation…it’s understandable.  Throughout all of the confusion, he said something that stuck with me.  He said something about how Esau hated Jacob.  I knew this.  I’ve known the story my whole life.  But then it hit me…Esau sold out to Jacob and hated him after he sold out.

Genesis 27:41 Esau held a grudge against Jacob because of the blessing his father had given him. He said to himself, “The days of mourning for my father are near; then I will kill my brother Jacob.”  42 When Rebekah was told what her older son Esau had said, she sent for her younger son Jacob and said to him, “Your brother Esau is consoling himself with the thought of killing you. 43 Now then, my son, do what I say: Flee at once to my brother Laban in Haran. 44 Stay with him for a while until your brother’s fury subsides. 45 When your brother is no longer angry with you and forgets what you did to him, I’ll send word for you to come back from there. Why should I lose both of you in one day?”

I know I would be pretty angry with my brothers if they had tried to trick me out of something that was rightfully mine, and not only that, but something that could change my life forever for the better.  But the thing that gets me is that in at least part of this story, Esau willingly sold his birthright…then he regretted it and hated Jacob.  He hated his brother, the very person he had sold out to?

There’s another passage in 2 Samuel that basically makes me sick, but it’s kinda saying the same thing.  2 Samuel 13:7-15 reads as follows:

7 David sent word to Tamar at the palace: “Go to the house of your brother Amnon and prepare some food for him.” 8 So Tamar went to the house of her brother Amnon, who was lying down. She took some dough, kneaded it, made the bread in his sight and baked it. 9 Then she took the pan and served him the bread, but he refused to eat.  “Send everyone out of here,” Amnon said. So everyone left him. 10 Then Amnon said to Tamar, “Bring the food here into my bedroom so I may eat from your hand.” And Tamar took the bread she had prepared and brought it to her brother Amnon in his bedroom. 11 But when she took it to him to eat, he grabbed her and said, “Come to bed with me, my sister.”  12 “Don’t, my brother!” she said to him. “Don’t force me. Such a thing should not be done in Israel! Don’t do this wicked thing. 13 What about me? Where could I get rid of my disgrace? And what about you? You would be like one of the wicked fools in Israel. Please speak to the king; he will not keep me from being married to you.” 14 But he refused to listen to her, and since he was stronger than she, he raped her.  15 Then Amnon hated her with intense hatred. In fact, he hated her more than he had loved her. Amnon said to her, “Get up and get out!”

Amnon had intense hatred for the thing he had just craved so much that it had made him sick.  How often do we do this?  We buy something or eat something or do something that we really, really want to do, so much so that we compromise our budget or diet or ourselves.  We sell out.  I know I’ve been repeating this theme over and over again, but really, isn’t that what this blog is all about?

How do we get past this?  First, get in the Word.  Become aware of what is a compromise and what isn’t.  Become aware that God has a plan for your life and start searching out how to live in the Spirit daily so that we can achieve that plan for our lives.  Get in the Word.  Spend time in prayer seeking the Spirit to come alive in our lives so that we can live fully.  And finally, get in the Word.  Notice a theme here?  How are we going to know who Jesus is if we don’t read about His life?  How are we going to know the will of God in our lives if we don’t know the character of God?

Finally, today it’s been on my heart so much today that Jesus came for everyone…not just me…and not just the people that I think He should save.  I’ve fallen in love with a song by a gentleman whose music I don’t really love.  My challenge to us today is to get in the Word and get to know the character of God and the never ending love of Jesus.  It will change your life and every life around you.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let's get this straight

  1. Kathy says:

    Wise beyond your years…Great thoughts..Thank You!

Leave a Reply

