Pesky little critters


I moved in to my “new” house tonight.  I’ve been working pretty hard every available night I had for about two to three weeks to get my bedroom, bathroom & laundry room painted so when I moved in, I wouldn’t have to move all that big furniture around just so I could paint, and that I’d have a “safe” place to go when I decided to paint the rest of the house.

I bought my old trailer that I had lived in for five years of my life.  It’s a good feeling to be a homeowner and be back out of my parents’ basement again.  Good feeling, indeed.  I had this great idea of something to post a little bit earlier, but right now sitting here typing I can’t think of what it was.  Maybe it’s because it’s late and I’m tired, or maybe it’s because of the Bacardi Sangria I just drank (doubtful), but I can’t really remember, so I guess you’ll just get to hear me ramble a little bit.

So my house had been empty for about 2 1/2 years…just long enough for a family of mice to have taken up residence.  They’re such dirty and gross little things.  I have a hard time trying to believe that God has a purpose for them.  All they do is make things yucky, at least in my opinion.

Do you ever wonder about other peoples’ purpose in your lives?  I know a lot of people.  All of them have affected my life in some way or another, some good and some bad, but had their effect either way. (not sure if it should be affect or effect.)  Anyway, there are some people that quite honestly drive me crazy, like the mice in the above paragraph.  What is their purpose in my life?  All they do is drive me crazy, but for some reason God has brought us together.  Is it for them to drive me crazy or for me to just be a friend?

Here’s the real question, now that I think about it a little more…What is my purpose in their life?  It’s a fault of our culture that my first question would naturally be what can they do for me instead of what can I do for them?  We’re (I am) so focused on myself that I had to sit back and think about it for a while before I came to the conclusion that maybe it’s just not all about me although most of the time I think it is or should be.

I’m still not really concerned about the mice.  I’m going to let my affect on their lives be feeding them peanut butter as the trap shuts down on them.  But I am reminded of Gandhi when he said “Be the change you want to see in the world.”  I guess the only way to break this culture of selfishness is to change my thoughts to others instead of focusing on me.

I’m guessing this is going to be a difficult process, especially since I described some of the people in my life above as those that drive me crazy.  But, God, grant me the ability to love the unlovable.  Teach me to help the helpless.  And help me to learn to love unconditionally and realize that everyone and everything has a purpose in Your plan.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pesky little critters

  1. Kathy says:

    So it really is not all about you? Now what am I suppose to believe?….As always I love to read what you have written..Glad your home. My love to the mice.

Leave a Reply

