The Red Letters


“Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you?  If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him; for God’s temple is sacred, and you are that temple.”  1 Corinthians 3:16-17

I’m so guilty of not taking care of myself sometimes.  I don’t mean taking care of myself by the standards of the world.  I mean taking care of myself by God’s standards.  By all means, by the standards of the world, I do okay.  I mean, if I want something, I go get it…or sometimes I have to do a little work to get it, but I usually get what I want.   Something inside of me, though, tells me that this is not what those verses above are talking about.

What does it mean to continually build and remodel the temple of God, namely ourselves?  To be honest, I’m not 100% sure.  I’m learning every day, though, there are a lot of times I fall short.  I really do try to make time for study, but there is not a lot of extra time.  I try to live praying continuously, but sometimes I get distracted by the things that the world has to offer.  Who am I kidding with “sometimes.”  Actually, it’s a lot of the times.  Sometimes, I get so wrapped up in my own story that I forget that there are billions of other stories going on all around me.  We all have a story, and we all play parts in other peoples’ stories.  I forget that.  Do you?

The thing that I find the hardest to do, though, is just get in the word and soak up the wisdom and the stories in there.  All of those stories play a part in my story.  It’s hard to grasp that every move that Abraham, Isaac and Jacob made has affected my life now in the present.  The choices they made have paved my way and my relationship with God.  Then you get to the New Testament, and not only do you have Peter, James and Paul, but we have the words of Jesus himself as he lived and walked this earth.  Those words definitely play a part in my story.  I hope I never forget that.

For those of you who have been coming here each day for the past little bit and seen the same post over and over and not seen a new one, I’m sorry!  I bought a house, so I’m trying to decorate and move and it’s taking up a lot of my time, but I’m so grateful and thankful for the opportunity!  I love it!  It’s no excuse, though.  This week, I’m hoping to put up a few more posts than I have over the past two weeks.  I know that this is a very tiny part of my story that overlaps into yours, but I like that it does overlap.  God bless you!

Father, please help me to never forget the life and love that I can read in the red letters.  Help me to make time for You and for the part I play in the other stories around me.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

