Tainted Light


From Cheryl.

The light in the room where I do most of my work is horrible.  The glass the covers the bulb has a yellow tint.  The texture of the glass is bumpy, so the light is dim.  You can place a mega-watt bulb in the light, but it still comes up lacking.  I wonder if I look the same way.  Jesus had this to say about being a light.

4“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. 15Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.16In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven. (Matthew 5:14-16 )

He’s not Jesus, but Rob Bell also has some good things to say about being the light.

“Why blame the dark for being dark? It is far more helpful to ask why the light isn’t as bright as it could be.”

“If the gospel isn’t good news for everybody, then it isn’t good news for anybody. And this is because the most powerful things happen when the church surrenders its desire to convert people and convince them to join. It is when the church gives itself away in radical acts of service and compassion, expecting nothing in return, that the way of Jesus is most vividly put on display. To do this, the church must stop thinking about everybody primarily in categories of in or out, saved or not, believer or nonbeliever. Besides the fact that these terms are offensive to those who are the “un” and “non”, they work against Jesus’ teachings about how we are to treat each other. Jesus commanded us to love our neighbor, and our neighbor can be anybody. We are all created in the image of God, and we are all sacred, valuable creations of God. Everybody matters. To treat people differently based on who believes what is to fail to respect the image of God in everyone. As the book of James says, “God shows no favoritism.” So we don’t either.”

And for the one that cut to the core:

“Because with every action, comment, conversation, we have the choice to invite Heaven or Hell to Earth.”

So in essence, I’m not the light, I am the bulb.  Jesus is the light and He needs to be visible to those I come into contact with.  That includes the lady who cut me off in traffic yesterday (my light was covered with a very black cloth).  How dim was my light when I was given an opportunity to give and I clutched my checkbook a little tighter?  Jesus shines no matter what – His light never changes, but what have I done to distort that light?  Did I invite Heaven or Hell to Earth?  I’ve cleaned my glass and I’m ready to let Christ shine through me this week – I hope you see Him.

About Julie

I'm just a girl struggling to find my place in this world like everyone else. Everywhere I look in my life and the lives of those I love I see God's love, whether it's in good times or bad. God's grace is here, it's amazing and He is totally in love with us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tainted Light

  1. Julie says:

    Good stuff. Think I might need to get out my glass cleaner, too!

Leave a Reply

